Express Entry

It is an online system that manages online applications of the Canadian government immigration center for permanent residence from skilled workers. By 2025 Canada aims to allow 12 million skilled professionals.

The current programs eligible for Canada’s Express Entry system are:

–       Federal Skilled Worker (FSW)
–       Canadian Experience Class (CEC)
–       Federal Skilled Trades (FST)

What is the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score system?

Express Entry pool has a point-based ranking system. Once an applicant’s profile is selected, they will receive a PR invitation from the express entry draw. Since 2016, the CRS score has been between 413 to 475, based entirely on the Canadian immigration rules.

To know your CRS score, connect with our immigration counsellors at Olive Consulting, who will give you a detailed assessment of your score. 

Federal Skilled Worker (FSW)

Candidates who apply through this program do not need prior work experience in Canada. Instead, they must meet specific requirements in FSW:

–       A minimum FSW eligibility score of 67 out of 100 points
–       Work Experience (Minimum of 1 year of full-time skilled work experience)
–       Language proficiency (Canadian Language Benchmark level 7 for English or French proficiency tests)
–       Level of education (Minimum of Canadian high school diploma or the equivalent in foreign education)

If the candidate meets all the above requirements, they can enter the FSW program under the Express Entry pool. All applicants with competitive high CRS scores will then receive an invitation to apply for Canadian PR.

Canadian Experience Class (CEC) 2021

The CEC program is for those candidates who have recent Canadian work experience and seek permanent immigration to the country. It is one of the fastest programs for Canadian PR. An added advantage is that proof of finances is not needed for entering under the CEC Express Entry program.

Candidates with the below requirements are eligible to apply in CEC:

–       Work Experience in Canada (Must have a minimum of 1 year of full-time skilled work experience in Canada)
–       Language proficiency (Canadian Language Benchmark level 7 for English or French proficiency tests)

Federal Skilled Trades (FST)

This program allows qualified tradespeople with at least two years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade to obtain Canadian PR.

Skilled trades as per Canada’s National Occupational Classification (NOC) code are:

–       Industrial, electrical, and construction trades
–       Maintenance and equipment operation trades
–       Technical and supervisors jobs in natural resources, agriculture, and related production
–       Processing, manufacturing, and utility supervisors and central control operators
–       Chefs and cooks
–       Butchers and bakers

Skilled trade candidates must also have these additional requirements:

–       Work Experience in Canada (Must have a minimum of 2 years full-time skilled trade in Canada).
–       Language proficiency (Canadian Language Benchmark level 4 for English or French proficiency tests).